The Technical Commission and its role

The Technical Commission set the standards, rules and regulations for diving and snorkelling in Ireland. Their remit covers everything from standards to safety. While they meet every quarter they are involved in almost every function of the council on a weekly basis.

The first meeting of the 2018 Technical Commission took place recently. The role of the TC
is set out as follows. The National Diving Officer is chair of the TC. Other members of the
TC are either directly elected to the position or co-opted onto the TC for a fixed period. Term
limits are being introduced for officers of the TC which will follow the Executive term limits
format. Members can spend two years in any one position and a total of six years’ maximum.
Members must be two years off the TC before returning. All TC members must agree to
work within the structures of the strategic plan. The TC will convene for a minimum of 4
meetings per year and the TC liaises with the Executive of the IUC via the NDO. Examples

Technical Committee 2019

Ray Yeates                 NDO                Chair of TC

Jo Fegan                    Member            Jury Coordinator

Damian Ryan           Member            Incidents Officer

Don Mc Carthy         Member           Documents & Standards Equivalence

Mark Stanley            Member           Rescue Diver Review

Thomas Moore         Member           TC Projects

Gearoid Mc Carthy   Member           TC Projects

Anne Boyle              Member           TC Projects

Ger Haugh               Member           TC Projects

Maureen Brogan    NSO                   Snorkelling